60 Seconds to Freedom

“There are two ways of waking up in the morning.  One is to say, ‘Good morning, God,’ and the other is to say, ‘Good God, morning!'” Bishop Fulton Sheen

Too often I’ve woken the second way, annoyed the day is here and starting with defeat.  But the beauty of a new day, is that we can begin the adventure with a victory.  In fact, every moment of the day presents us with an opportunity to get stronger, more virtuous, or wiser.  It’s hard to get out of bed.  Sometimes really, really hard!  But if I can own that moment, by asking for God’s grace, and exercising my will, I know I can overcome a huge obstacle – the snooze button! 

snooze
One way to do it

What’s the big deal?  I am prone to laziness and selfishness.  And if I deny myself that little comfort, of rolling over, I have set the tone for the day.  I have decided not to capitulate to every feeling I have, but to take control of my life – one small victory at a time.  The more I become a master of myself, choosing something good, even when I don’t feel like it, the more free I become.

And if I lose right away?

The day is not over!  That’s the beauty of facing each moment as a battle, an opportunity, a choice.  You can certainly create momentum through the day in choosing what’s best for yourself and others.  But you can also see every encounter as a new beginning, a new life to start.  You can rise out of the ashes of your day, at any point. 

60 Second Victories

A whole day can feel overwhelming, so just focus on the next minute.  What small task can you accomplish?  What’s a good way to spend your next 20 breaths?

Would you be willing to do something difficult for 60 seconds if it would jump start your day?  Here’s a way you can set your priorities and claim a victory in one short minute.  The idea comes from St. Josemaria Escriva and it’s called, “the heroic minute.”  Here’s how it works – within the first minute of your alarm clock going off, get on your knees and spend one minute in prayer. 

I challenge you tonight to decide to resist tomorrow morning’s snooze button.  Instead, imagine your alarm as God’s invitation to a new day to be alive.  The day is His gift and you can respond with a 60 second “Thank you.”  So take a breath when the alarm buzzes and say out loud, “Good morning, God!”  Then kneel for one minute and ask God for His much needed grace. 

Heroes are made in one minute battles, and the fight is coming to you shortly.

Leave a Reply

